Fly Anakin shares the second offering from his forthcoming project with Mutant Academy producer Foisey, Skinemaxxx (Side A), with new single “Outsidigans Anthem.” The first installment of Skinemaxxx will be released April 5th via Lex Records, and includes previously-released single “Blicky Bop,” which The FADER deemed a Song You Need upon its release. The new track, “Outsidigans Anthem”, finds Fly Anakin rhyming and harmonizing alongside smooth jazz chops for a Quiet Storm-esque production backing his vocals. The track’s accompanying visual, co-directed by Anakin and Matt Cowen, depicts Skinemaxxx’s central character Goquan, played by Anakin, and his friends scrolling through the various channels of the Skinemaxxx universe.

Detailing the meaning of the song, Anakin says the track is “a theme song for outsidigan’s. The ones that are outside even when they wanna go home. The streets need us. Free Max B.”

IMPRINTent, IMPRINT Entertainment, Fly Anakin, Kevin Cordon, Orienteer, Nick Dierl, New Music Releases, Entertainment News, Lex Records, Mutant Academy, Foisey, Skinemaxxx, Jack McKain, Matt Cowen, Jazz Music, Jazz Artist, Jazz, Quiet Storm, Singer, Songwriter, Music
Photo Credit: Jack McKain

Skinemaxxx (Side A) builds upon the breakout year Anakin had in 2022 with the release of his debut studio album Frank, which includes the stand-out tracks “Black Be The Source,” “Ghost” and “Sean Price,” and led Pitchfork to describe him as “the single best pure rapper in the scene.” Frank planted Anakin’s flag in the contemporary hip-hop scene as not only a technically-gifted rapper, but as a fully-realized artist and songwriter, and received praise from Rolling Stone, The FADER, Complex, and NPR. The album also landed on best of the year lists at Bandcamp, HipHopDX, OkayPlayer, Uproxx and more. Most recently, Fly Anakin enlisted Madlib for a remix of the Frank track “No Dough,” which was included on Lex Records’ LEX-XX 20th Anniversary remix series.

Check out “Outsidigans Anthem” and pre-save/order Skinemaxxx (Side A) above, see full EP details below, and stay tuned for more from Fly Anakin coming soon.

Fly Anakin

Skinemaxxx (Side A)

April 5th, 2023

Lex Records

1. Intro

2. Blicky Bop

3. Cafeteria (Skit)

4. Sudden Death (Biggest Fan) feat. Big Kahuna OG

5. Outsidigan’s Anthem

6. Bonnet Music

7. Love Song (Grand Marquis Version)

8. Affirmations feat. Pink Siifu

9. After School (Skit)

10. Suppression

11. Blizzies With GoQuan

12. Channel 69 (Skit)

Connect with Fly Anakin:

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter