Today, Kælan Mikla keyboardist and back-up singer Sólveig Matthildur streams the entirety of her highly anticipated second album, Constantly in Love. Set for international release on April 19th via Artoffact Records, hear Sólveig Matthildur’s Constantly in Love in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Constantly in Love, the second record from Kælan Mikla producer and back-up singer Sólveig Matthildur is an emotional, poetic, and breathtaking creation. From the lighthearted but dead-serious first single and video (“Dystopian Boy”) to the medieval symmetry of the album’s construction (spoiler: it’s a massive envelope poem), Sólveig has, quite possibly, written an album for the ages.

Channelling influences as varied as trip-hop pioneers Portishead, to black metal band Urfaust, to French post-punk chanteuse Hante, Sólveig’s sophomore album is one part darkwave, one part spoken art-poetry jams, and one part electronic downtempo compositions. Rolling Stone’s David Fricke likely put it best: after seeing Sólveig live, he called her “a tablet-age reincarnation of the post–Velvet Underground Nico.”

Toronto-based Artoffact Records will release Constantly in Love on vinyl, CD, and digital formats on April 19th, 2019. The album features guest appearances from Drab Majesty’s Deb Demure, post-punk solo artist Some Ember, and the digital version includes a bonus track remixed by Hante. The album’s release party will be in Iceland at Sónar Reykjavik, April 25th-27th.

In the leadup, to its international release this Friday, stream Constantly in Love in its entirety exclusively HERE, courtesy of Decibel, North America’s only monthly metal (and more!) magazine. Also, see & hear the recently revealed video for “Utopian Girl” video – the first of a three-part series – exclusively HERE, courtesy of Preorder info can be found HERE at Artoffact’s Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

The tracklisting for Sólveig Matthildur’s Constantly in Love
1. Constantly In Love
2. My Desperation
3. Your Desperation
4. Tómas
5. My Father Taught Me How to Cry
6. Constantly Heartbroken
7. Dystopian Boy (feat. Deb Demure)
8. Utopian Girl
9. I’m OK (feat. Some Ember)
10. The End
Digital-only bonus track:
11. Your Desperation (Hante. remix)

Facebook / Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *