Third Man Public Access, Episode 5 debuts

unnamed (15)

Third Man Records has shared Third Man Public Access, Episode 5, which now consists of long-form broadcasts of exclusive content, intimate at-home performances, readings, music videos and more from Third Man artists and friends in lieu of live-streamed performances. Third Man Public Access Episode 5 premieres on YouTube today, June 29th, at 10 AM CT.

This new episode features songs from Tenacious D, Brendan Benson & Robyn Hitchcock, Oli Burslem (Yak), Modern Nature and many more. All artists included in this episode are listed below in the order in which they appear, along with the content they’ll be showcasing.

“We’re attempting to capture the lunacy and creativity of this incredibly unique time and present it through an early MTV meets late night UHF psychedelic experience. Join us, while we laugh through the tears in the rain… Fuck Trump,” Third Man co-founder Ben Swank said.

Oli Burslem (YAK)
Song: “Flys”
IG: @oliburslem @yakband
Oli Burslem is the lead singer and guitarist for UK rock band YAK. YAK released their latest album Pursuit of Momentary Happiness on Third Man Records in 2019.

Adia Victoria & William Tyler
A Black Woman’s Abridgment of Robert Penn Warren’s Segregation
IG @adiavictoria @williamtylertn
From Adia Victoria – “A little background on this piece— I began reading Warren’s collection of interviews and essays he undertook immediately after the lynching of Emmett Till. He went to Mississippi, Louisiana and Arkansas to speak primarily to the white folks down there to get a better understanding on the grip that White Supremacy had taken root in their minds.

I wrote this poem as a protest against constant being asked as a black woman to explain racism to well mean white people. It’s always been perplexing that each time a murder like George Floyd happens Black people are the ones tasked with speaking. In this poem I let the white folks do the talking.

This poem is taken directly from my underlined notes throughout the book. I rearranged the lines to suit the poem but these words are not my own. They are direct quotes from interview subjects and Warren himself!”

Olivia Jean & Ben Blackwell
Song: “Lizzy” (Melvins cover)
Venmo: @oliviajeanmusic
Olivia Jean, Detroit born n’ bred, current resident of Nashville, TN, first staked her flag with The Black Belles in 2010 and as a session musician for many acts. Her latest album, Night Owl, a collection of surf guitar, 60s Girl Group harmonies, and punk commingle, placed Olivia behind the control desk in the role of producer.

Third Man Records’ own Ben Blackwell, and drummer for The Dirtbombs, joins her on drums.

Tenacious D
Song: “Don’t Blow It, Kage” feat. Jack White
IG: @tenaciousd
Tenacious D is an American comedy rock duo, formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1994. It was founded by actors Jack Black and Kyle Gass.

The Paranoyds
Song: “Freakout”
Los Angeles-based punk quartet. Their debut album Carnage Bargain is out on Suicide Squeeze.

Jacuzzi Boys on The Florida Room (trailer)
IG: @jacuzziboys
Miami garage rock

Robert Ellis
Song: “Untitled Instrumental”
Venmo: Robert-Ellis-9
Instagram: @Robertellismusic
Robert Ellis is a singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist from Houston, Texas. He released his latest album Texas Piano Man on New West Records in 2019.

Sheree Renee Thomas
Excerpt from “Nine Bar Blues”
IG: @shereereneethomas
Thomas is a two time World Fantasy Award Winner and the author of “Nine Bar Blues,” out now on Third Man Books.

Song: “(I’m Gonna) Bite The Hand That Feeds”
IG: @ian_f_svenonious
Ian F. Svenonius and Alexandra Cabral are the philosophers of fuzz, black-jacket beat-boppers, bandstand bolsheviks, single note savants, tear-stained tape deck, last refuge of ineptitude, sin is in group ESCAPE-ISM.

Modern Nature
Song: “Flourish”
IG: @m0dernnature
A meandering blend of bucolic folk, experimental jazz, and psych-tinged indie rock, Modern Nature is a project from U.K. artists Jack Cooper (Ultimate Painting, Mazes) and Will Young (Beak, Moon Gangs).

Robyn Hitchcock & Brendan Benson
Song: “Rain”
IG: @robynhitchcockofficial @brendanbensonmusic
Robyn Hitchcock is one of England’s most enduring contemporary singer/songwriters and live performers. Brendan Benson is a solo artist, songwriter, producer, and co-frontman of The Raconteurs.

Kelley Stoltz
Song: “Before (like Harry)”
IG: @kelleystoltz
Venmo: @Kelley-Stoltz
Kelley Stoltz is a San Francisco based songwriter/musician/producer originally from Detroit. Some of the artists he has worked with include Thee Oh Sees, Sarah Bethe Nelson, Spiral Stairs, and Echo and The Bunnymen. He has released at least 12 LPs including Double Exposure on TMR. You should own them all.

Dirty Ghosts
Song: “Strange Weather”
IG: @dirtyghosts
Dirty Ghosts are a San Francisco based band formed in 2006 and driven by Allyson Baker. Pitchfork has been known to describe them as “riff-tastic with stuttering snares and a gritty bass pulse.” Allyson is also an avid collector of chairs and plays guitar in Kelley Stoltz’s band.

His Name Is Alive
Song: “Come Out The Wilderness”
IG: @xoxowar
His Name Is Alive is an experimental rock band/project from Detroit. HNIA debuted on 4AD Records in 1990 and had a long run at the label. Throughout the band’s long history, leader Warren Defever has been the only constant member, with a variety of musicians contributing over the years.

Michaelangelo Matos
Song: “Matos on Prince”
IG: @matoswk75
Michaelangelo Matos is the author of The Underground Is Massive: How Electronic Dance Music Conquered America (Dey Street, 2015) and Sign ‘O’ the Times (Bloomsbury, 2004). He contributes regularly to Mixmag and The New Yorker and lives in St. Paul, Minnesota.