Rucci & Blxst Work Through Relationship Problems in “Understand” Video

The Inglewood Alpha Dog Shows Off His Sweet Side in the Video for This Touching and Melodic Highlight from Midget

With a talent that shines no matter his mood, Inglewood’s Rucci strikes the perfect balancing act between heartfelt bars and disrespectful rhymes. Delivering a melodic post-mortem to a recent relationship, Rucci shares Understand,” his latest video. Featuring an appearance from fellow L.A. native Blxst, whose smooth tenor helps accent producer JR‘s emotional guitar flourishes, “Understand” is an aching and vibey rap ballad, in which Rucci offers a mea culpa from the bottom of his heart to his ex, making sure that even if she doesn’t take him back, she understands where he comes from: “First off, look I’m sorry, to keep it real, you know that ain’t me/And it broke me into pieces when you told me that you hate me.” In the video, Rucci and Blxst bring their respective ladies to a ’50s-style diner in an attempt to make things right. Directed by RealMovie, the striking video perfectly suits the song’s laid-back vibe and sorrowful, yet hopeful message. “Understand” is Rucci’s second video in two weeks, following the autobiographical clip for Complicated.

“Understand’ is a standout track from Midget, Rucci’s second album. The follow-up to 2019’s acclaimed Tako’s SonMidget finds Rucci maturing as an artist, while still treating his fans to the delirious punchlines they’ve come to expect. Last week, Rucci shared Midget (Deluxe), which added 9 quality songs to the original’s 15 tracks. The deluxe edition is home to new highlights including the Ron-RonTheProducer-helmed “Where I’m From,” in which Rucci trades bars with OhGeesy of Shoreline Mafia and BandGang Lonnie Bands over gentle acoustic guitars, the Public Enemy/Jay-Z-interpolating “Hotel,” the lush and plaintive “Do I Ever,” and “Watch Me,” another confrontational collaboration with Rucci’s frequent sparring partner AzChike. With production from Ron-RonCypress Moreno, JR, and others, and additional guest spots from AzSwayeLil Deuce, Mister, and PjayMidget (Deluxe) is available everywhere via Mackk&Co/EMPIRE.

Midget tracklist:
1. Complicated (Prod. by 420Tiesto, Traplordcami, Drumma)
2. No Friends (Prod. by Romo)
3. Bad Boys ft. AzChike (Prod by Traplordcami & 420Tiesto)
4. Check Me Out ft. Haiti Babii (Prod. by Drumma & 420Tiesto)
5. Okay Doeee ft. ALLBLACK (Prod. by Ron-Ron)
6. Me & My Drugz Pt. 2 ft. Shordie Shordie (Prod. by Steelz)
7. Burn In Hell Bitch ft. White John (Prod. by Traplordcami , Killa cam & Drumma)
8. Hoe Friends (Prod. by Romo)
9. Killa (Prod. by Traplordcami & Drumma)
10. Understand ft. Blxst (Prod by JR)
11. Broken Wings Interlude (Prod. By 420tiesto & Traplordcami)
12. Believe In Me ft. Mozzy (Prod. By Steelz)
13. Ran Outta Luck (Prod. by Romo)
14. Leave Me Alone (Prod. by Romo)
15. Juan Carlos Martinez Jr (Prod. by Romo)

Midget (Deluxe) new tracks:
16. Hotel (Prod. by Zay Coronado)
17. Tha Whoops (ft Lil Duece & Cypress Moreno) (Prod. by Cypress Moreno)
18. Watch Me (ft. AzChike)
19. Where I’m From (ft. Band Gang Lonnie Bands & OhGeesy) (Prod. by Ron-RonTheProducer)
20. Do I Ever (Prod. by BlvckLotus)
21. Ride Wit Me (Prod. by Benny Ave)
22. Float On (ft. Mister) (Prod. by Tiesto)
23. Shmoke (ft. Pjay & AzSwaye) (Prod. by Fort Woe)
24. Everybody Weird (Prod. by JR)