Acura Scores Third Front-Row Sweep of the Season

IMPRINTent, IMPRINT Entertainment, YOUR CULTURE HUB, Acura, Tom Blomqvist, Sports, Sports News, Sports Entertainment, Sports Media, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Watkins Glen, 60 MSR Acura, Sports Cars, Ontario, Race Cars, Racing, NASCAR, Formula 1, Formula One

Meyer Shank Racing’s Tom Blomqvist scored the team’s second pole of 2022, leading a front row lock out for Acura teams in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s return to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

Blomqvist’s lap of 1:04.394 aboard the #60 ARX-05 is the highest average speed lap in IMSA history, and a new qualifying lap record for the Bowmanville, Ontario facility. Blomqvist also claimed the qualifying lap record with a pole performance last weekend at Watkins Glen.

He will share the #60 MSR Acura tomorrow with the holder of IMSA’s now-second-place highest average speed lap, co-driver Oliver Jarvis.

Lining up alongside, and completing the Acura DPi front row sweep, will be Wayne Taylor Racing’s Ricky Taylor in the #10 ARX-05 prototype. Taylor and co-driver Filipe Albuquerque currently lead the IMSA championship and fresh off victory last weekend at the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen—a race where they again started second to the #60 MSR Acura.


In the production-based GTD category, the #51 Acura NSX GT3 Evo22 from Rick Ware Racing will roll off sixth in the GTD class in the hands of Aidan Read and Ryan Eversley. 

Canadian Tire Motorsport Park Acura Qualifying Results

  • 1st overall – #60 Tom Blomqvist, Meyer Shank Racing Acura ARX-05 DPi [new lap record]
  • 2nd overall – #10 Ricky Taylor, Wayne Taylor Racing Acura ARX-05 DPi
  • 6th GTD –  #51 Aidan Read, Rick Ware Racing Acura NSX GT3 Evo22