JAWNY Premieres New Song & Video “Take It Back;” ‘The Story of Hugo’ EP To Be Released July 15

JAWNY To Perform At Lollapalooza 2021

Singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist JAWNY shares his latest single, “Take It Back.Listen HERE. Released via Interscope Records, “Take It Back” will appear on the L.A.-based artist’s forthcoming EP The Story of Hugo, due out July 15.

JAWNY will join the recently announced Lollapalooza lineup taking place in Chicago at Grant Park July 29 – August 1.

Fueled by furious guitar riffs, thrashing rhythms, and triumphant gang vocals, “Take It Back” picks up where “Best Thing” ends, a clamorous amble into pure rock ‘n’ roll. Pulling on his love of The White Stripes and The Beastie Boys, “Take It Back” is an immediate, instantly catchy track that reaffirms JAWNY’s talent for transmitting raw emotion in massively memorable yet unpredictable pop songs.  As the track takes on a wild velocity, JAWNY brings a bit of lucid self-reflection to the chorus (“If she never loved me then I’m better off alone”), ultimately twisting that revelation into a cathartic rallying cry.

The video for “Take It Back” finds JAWNY working again with director Spencer Ford (Brockhampton, St. Panther, Vanillaroma), who also created the visuals for his previous singles “Trigger of Love” and “Best Thing” (the first song released from The Story of Hugo). In keeping with the track’s off-the-rails energy, “Take It Back” follows JAWNY and friends as they hitch a ride in the back of a speeding garbage truck, bashing each other with trash bags before meeting a fateful end in the trash compactor.

The Story of Hugo will follow JAWNY’s 2020 major-label debut For Abby, a 10-track conceptual project detailing his attempt at reviving a troubled romance. This time around, JAWNY presents the gut-punching prelude to For Abby, approaching each track with equal parts with vulnerability and warped imagination. Featuring four songs and two interludes, the result is an up-close portrait of young love gone awry: boy meets girl, boy sabotages everything, girl moves on, boy deeply, deeply regrets it.

Jawny, Interscope Records, New Music, Latest Songs, New Song 2021, Latest Music, Lollapalooza

Tracklist for The Story of Hugo EP by JAWNY:

1. Hugo Is Born
2. Best Thing
3. Take It Back
4. You Should Watch This One
5. Tombstone Grey
6. Can Ya

For more information on JAWNY, visit:

2 thoughts on “JAWNY Premieres New Song & Video “Take It Back;” ‘The Story of Hugo’ EP To Be Released July 15

Comments are closed.