NATAS Announces Hosts for 49th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards


IMPRINTent, IMPRINT Entertainment, YOUR CULTURE HUB, Entertainment News, NATAS, Entertainment Tonight, Daytime Emmy, Kevin Frazier, Nischelle Turner, National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, CBS, Paramount+, Hollywood, CNN, Black Women, Daytime Emmys, Lutz & Carr LLP, CW, Adam Sharp, Steve Ulrich, David McKenzie, ATI

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) today announced that Entertainment Tonight hosts Kevin Frazier and Nischelle Turner will host the 49th Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards, which will be presented live at 9 PM EDT (replay at 9 PM PDT) on Friday, June 24, on the CBS Television Network and streamed on Paramount+.

Frazier is a journalist, producer and entrepreneur who has interviewed Hollywood’s biggest stars and traveled the world covering exclusive stories. Turner, who made television history in 2021 as the first Black woman to host Entertainment Tonight, is an award-winning journalist and regular contributor to CNN. Together, Frazier and Turner are the first Black duo to host an entertainment news show.

The June 24th telecast will mark the 16th time CBS has broadcast the Daytime Emmys®, more than any other network. The Creative Arts and Lifestyle Emmy ceremony will stream live at 9 PM ET/6 PM PT on Saturday, June 18 at and via The Emmys apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, and Roku (full list at Categories to be presented at each ceremony were previously announced.

The Daytime Emmy Awards have recognized outstanding achievement in television programming and crafts since 1974, honoring work in a variety of categories, including daytime dramas, talk shows, instructional programming, hosting, and legal/courtroom programs. In 2021, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and the Television Academy jointly announced plans to realign the Daytime and Primetime Emmy Awards to be organized by content genre, as opposed to program airtime. In addition, in recognition of the marked increase in content and entries for children’s programming, 2022 will mark the first annual Children’s & Family Emmy Awards, with relevant categories separating from the Daytime Emmys into their own competition and ceremony.

All awards are judged by a pool of more than 1,000 peer professionals from across the television industry, whose confidential ballots were then tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.

The 49TH ANNUAL DAYTIME EMMY AWARDS is produced by NATAS and Associated Television International (ATI), which produced Daytime Emmy Award ceremonies on The CW in 2009 and on CBS in 2010, 2011, 2020 and 2021. Adam Sharp and Steve Ulrich are executive producers from NATAS, while David McKenzie is executive producer from ATI.